Niklas Björling Rygert

Niklas Björling Rygert


Hire Niklas Björling Rygert ›


Swedish tenor Niklas Björling Rygert attracted international attention after his debut as Mime, in both Das Rheingold and Siegfried at the Royal Opera in Stockholm 2005. In 2009 he sang both roles at the Palau de les Arts Reina Sofia in Valencia under the baton of Zubin Mehta. Since then Niklas Björling Rygert has worked with Maestro Mehta on a regular basis: in Gurrelider, where he sang Klaus Narr with the Israel Philharmonic, marking the celebration of Zubin Mehta´s 50th anniversary in Israel and Valzacchi in der Rosenkavalier at the Maggio Musicale Fiorentino 2012. In the 2013/14 season he was again invited to Tel Aviv for concert performances of Die Fledermaus with the Israel Philharmonic. Since graduating from the University College of Opera 1999, he has been a member of the Stockholm Royal Opera, singing an expansive and diverse range of roles, Captain (Wozzeck), Dickson (La dame blanche), Belfiore (La finta giadiniera), Monostatos (Zauberflöte), Basilio (Le nozze di Figaro), Franz/Andres/Spalanzani/Pitichinaccio (Les contes d´Hoffmann), Vasek (Prodaná nevesta). During 2013 Niklas has performed in Il Trovatore, Parsifal, Peter Grimes and Salome. Season 2014/15 he has performed in roles Pang/Pong (Turandot), Valzacchi (Der Rosenkavalier) and Aigeus (Medea) written by the composer Börtz. 2016 Doctor Cajus (Falstaff),Benoit (La Bohéme), Monostatos (Die Zauberflöte) and Desiré (Fedora). Besides his considerable opera and concert activity in Stockholm, the following engagements have been important stepping stones in his career: Der Narr (Die Schatzgräber) in Frankfurt, Mime (Das Rheingold) with Kent Nagano and the Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra, Mime (Siegfried) in Esbjerg, Denmark, Valzacchi in der Rosenkavalier in Amsterdam and his debut at Dresden´s Semperoper as Pedrillo. In 2005 Niklas Björling Rygert was awarded the Masonic Order´s Master Education Grant. He also won the Opera friends award in Stockholm 20013, the Gunn Wållgren award 2005 and the Uno Stjernqvist award in 2006.
Read More